For every generation, there is a generation that precedes it. In my case, the generation that lived through Vietnam, the Civil Rights era, sending a man to the moon…this was real history. Everything that happened in my lifetime seemed inauthentic, in comparison. Except, perhaps, the fall of the Berlin Wall and the dissolution of the Soviet Union. Other events have been memorable: the Rodney King beatings, trial and subsequent riots; OJ Simpson’s chase, trial and acquittal; the Oklahoma City bombings and the 1993 World Trade center Bombing; the birth of cells phones and the internet.

In my adult lifetime, no single event can be more important than 9/11, yet the era in which I’ve lived still feels too new to be historic. Recently I purchased a slide scanner, which finally allowed me to make use of my mother’s collection of slides (why she insisted on taking photographs on slide film is a question for another day).

Without further ado, here are some pictures of Boston and Cambridge in 1970. Apparently those long-haired hippies were protesting a thing or two back then.

